The gallery

Discover the gallery

The galerie DIL welcomes you in its premisses located at the 86, Faubourg Saint-Honoré street. Come and discover the gallery with around thirty modern artworks by famous artists such as Fernand Léger, Bernard Buffet, Victor Vasarely ... 
Our team has a great knowledge of these artists and their works and will be able to answer all of your questions about the paintings on display.
Finally, the DIL gallery offers you a free estimate of your works, carried out by experts in modern painting.

The exhibited artists

The DIL gallery offers you the work of several modern artists who had a great impact on the 20th century painting's history.
Our collection includes in particular a large number of artworks from two emblematic artists: Bernard Buffet and Fernand Léger. Let's learn more about these two figures of the modern art. 

Fernand Léger

Fernand Léger was born on 4th December 1881, in Argentan (Orne) and died on 17th August 1955 in Gif-sur-Yvette. He was a french painter who also created tapissery or stained glass cardboard, was a decorator, a ceramist, a sculptor, a designer and an illustrator.

He was one of the first to publicly exhibit Cubist-oriented work. 

His Norman origins, that come from a herding father and his outspokenness, have often made Fernand Léger the "peasant of the avant-garde".

 

The first steps in art

At nineteen, he discovered the Paris of 1900 and settled in the Montparnasse district and attended painting academies.

From 1903, Léger shared a studio with the painter André Mare. In 1907, like many painters from Paris, he was very moved by the retrospective devoted to Cézanne. This definitively directs his painting. The same year, he discovered Picasso and Braque's cubism.

The painter soon get into the effervescence of Paris' artistic life and, from 1908, worked alongside Modigliani, Laurens and above all Alexander Archipenko. Located at La Ruche in 1908, he became friend with Blaise Cendrars, Max Jacob and Guillaume Apollinaire and dialogued, among others, with the painter Robert Delaunay and also with Marc Chagall, Chaïm Soutine, Chaim Jacob Lipchitz, Pierre Reverdy and Maurice Raynal. 

Fernand Léger and the cubism

He painted La Couseuse, in 1910, which is the beginning of its cubist artwork. A cluster of geometric lines housed in a short space, the canvas is close to the massive figures of Picasso painted the same year. However, with Nu dans la forêt (1909-1910), Léger presents his own cubism, although he certainly drew inspiration from Picasso’s work of the same title.

découvrir la galerie
la couseuse, huile sur toile, 1910

Regular spectator of the Medrano's circus, Fernand Léger paint acrobatsclownsjugglers whose "mechanized" bodies have the same value as objects and decorations.

He married Jeanne Lohy in 1919. They met before the war in Paris' intellectual circles. Jeanne will be his war godmother and will maintain a rich correspondence with the artist.

Fernand Léger: the art teacher

In 1924, Fernand Léger got closer to the purists and participated in the press L’Esprit nouveau. He founded with Amédée Ozenfant the Academy of Modern Art at 86, rue Notre-Dame-Des-Champs in Paris. The latter would teach there until 1928. This academy would become the Academy of Contemporary Art in 1934.

In October 1940, he moved in Marseille, from where he sailed to the United States. There, he taught at Yale University with Henri Focillon, Darius Milhaud and André Maurois.

A painter involved in politics

The French painter joined the French Communist Party in 1945, of which he remained a member until the end of his life. In 1946, he reopened his workshop at Place Jules-Ferry in Montrouge.

His late carrer

In the beginning of the 1950s, Fernand Léger participated with Jean Bazaine and Jean Le Moal to the decoration of the Church of the Sacred Heart, built in a working-class district of Audincourt (Doubs), for which he designed the seventeen stained glass windows of the nave and the choir and draws the cartoons for the tapestry located behind the high altar.

In 1952, he married Nadia Khodossievitch

découvrir la galerie
Nadia Khodossievitch

Fernand Léger success after his death

A few months before his death in 1955, Fernand Léger bought the Mas Saint-André, located at the foot of the village of Biot. In here Nadia Léger, his widow, and Georges Bauquier, his close collaborator, decided to create a museum to pay homage to him and promote knowledge of his work.

The building incorporates a huge mosaic on the facade, initially planned by Léger for the decoration of the Hanover stadium, but never completed.

In 1969, the founders donated the building, the land and a rich collection of over three hundred artworks to the French State. André Malraux, Minister of State for Cultural Affairs, received the donation during an official event which ended with a gala held at the Palais des Festivals in Cannes. 
Le musée Léger becomes a national museum and, according to the terms of the donation, the founders remain directors for life.

Fernand Léger's bond with Normandy

If Fernand Léger died in Gif-sur-Yvette in Essone and lived in Paris, he was born and raised in Normandy, as his painting testifies. The artist was thus born in Argentan in the Orne and has never cut ties with his region of origin.

In 1922, his mother gave him this farm in Lisores, a house in which he would go and recharge his batteries for 30 years as soon as he had the opportunity and in which there was a painting studio. In the 1970s, his wife, Nadia Léger, opened this place to the public. 40 years later, the art dealer Jean du Chatenet reactivated this project.

The beneficiaries and holders of the moral rights of Fernand Léger, descendants of Nadia Léger, chairing the Comité Léger, inform professionals and amateurs of the art market that, to date, no authorization has been given to a third party for the publication of a catalog raisonné of works on paper by Fernand Léger.

For all expertise, simply send the request to contact@comiteleger.fr

Contraste de formes, Fernand Léger, 1913
galerie DIL accueil
Le puit, Gouache sur papier, 1950
galerie DIL image accueil
Composition à la Fleur - Gouache sur papier, 1952
galerie DIL accueil
L'église d'Ansauville, huile sur toile, 1968
Atelier de la baume, dessin au crayon, 1997
La plage de Saint-Cast, huile sur toile, 1964

Bernard Buffet

découvrir la galerie
Bernard Buffet

Bernard Buffet was born on July 10, 1928 in the 9th arrondissement of Paris.

He was raised in the 17th arrondissement of Paris in theo 29 rue des Batignolles where he began to paint and draw at the age of ten. Very young, he spent time with the artist Marie-Thérèse Auffray who taught him painting and became his mentor. Expelled from the Lycée Carnot in 1939, he attended evening classes in the city of Paris in 1942 at Place des Vosges where Paul Darbefeuille introduced him to drawing.

His first steps in painting

Bernard Buffet wins the entrance exam to the National School of Fine Arts in December 1943 at the age of fifteen. The latter then spent two years in the studio of the painter Eugène Narbonne, where he was soon considered as very talented. He left to work alone in the maid's room in the family apartment in 1945. On the occasion of a vacation in Saint-Cast-le-Guildo (Brittany), he paints beach pictures. In 1946, he exhibited his first painting, a self-portrait, at the below 30 years old Salon at the Galerie des Beaux-Arts.

First exhibits

He then exhibits L’Homme accoudé at the Salon des Indépendants in 1947. In December, his first private exhibition presented by Pierre Descarques at the Librairie des impressions d'art, organized by Guy Weelen and Michel Brient, took place. The State, through Raymond Cogniat, made its first purchase for the Musée national d’art moderne de Paris, the painting Nature morte au poulet.

découvrir la galerie
Buveur Assis, huile sur toile, 1948

In april 1948, he unveil a new painting Le Buveur at the Young Painting Prize organized at the Drouant-David gallery, 52, rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré in Paris. He did not win the prize, but Doctor Maurice Girardin, a contemporary art collector who acquired seventeen of his works between 1948 and 1953, defended his painting with passion and drew Emmanuel David's attention to this young painter.

Bernard Buffet's success

A few days later, Emmanuel David goes to the apartment at 29 rue des Batignolles and offers Bernard Buffet to enter his gallery with an exclusive contract. This contract was subsequently shared with Maurice Garnier.

The following June, at the Saint-Placido gallery in Paris, he won the Critics' Prize ex-aequo with Bernard Lorjou, who was twenty years older.

In 1949 Pierre Descargues publishes Bernard Buffet at the France's literary press. Bernard Buffet married Agnès Nanquette (1923-1976), a friend from the Beaux-Arts, with whom he divorced the following year.

Bernard Buffet and Annabel Schwob

In 1958, the first retrospective of his work at the Charpentier gallery in Paris. Pierre Bergé publishes Bernard Buffet. In May of the same year, he met Annabel Schwob in Saint-Tropez. It's love at first sight. She she had several relationships at the time and Bernard had just left Pierre Bergé, who he had been living with for several years and who had been managing his career.

On 12th December, 1958, Buffet married Annabel Schwob in Rammatuelle. Buffet was to paint her tirelessly; in 1961 one of his exhibitions was titled "Thirty Times Annabel Schwob".

découvrir la galerie

In 1961, he created a set of paintings showing the life of Christ to decorate the chapel of Château l'Arc, in the town of Fuveau. Ten years later, at the request of Monsignor Pasquale Macchi, secretary of Pope Paul VI, Bernard Buffet offered these paintings to the Vatican Museum where they are exhibited in a special room.

Maurice Druon published Bernard Buffet, legends of Annabel Buffet, images by Luc Fournol in 1964. Bernard Buffet bought La Vallée in Saint-Cast where he would work until 1970.

In November 25th 1973, was the inauguration of Musée Bernard Buffet, created by Kiichiro Okano, at Surugadaira in Japan.

Elected in the Academy of Beaux-Arts in March 13, 1974 in the chair of Paul Jouve, Bernard Buffet was then the youngest academician.

Annabel published D’amour et d’eau fraîche in 1986; the same year the book Bernard Buffet by Yann Le Pichon in two volumes (which won the Elie-Faure prize) comes out.

Bernard Buffet's death

Bernard Buffet, diminished by Parkinson's disease, committed suicide by asphyxiation on October 4, 1999 in his workshop in Domaine de la Baume near Tourtour (Var). He is found suffocated in a black plastic bag on which his name was printed with a particular calligraphy.

On November 2007 the 3rd volume of Yann Le Pichon's monography Bernard Buffet, covering the years between 1982 and 1999, was published.

The Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris organizes a Bernard Buffet's retrospective from October 14, 2016 to March 5, 2017 as well as the musée de Montmartre from October 18, 2016 to March 12, 2017

Artwork appraisal

Paintings, watercolors, drawings, describe your works, send us a double-sided photo and we will give you a free estimate of the value of your items.

galerie DIL image equipe

Getting in touch

The DIL gallery welcomes you to its premisses located at 86 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré from Monday to Saturday

Opening hours

Access

Follow the gallery

Getting in touch

The DIL gallery welcomes you to its premisses located at 86 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré from Monday to Saturday

Opening hours

Access

Follow the gallery

Découvrir la Galerie

Découvrir la galerie

La galerie DIL vous accueille dans son établissement situé au 86 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré. Venez découvrir la galerie à travers une trentaine d’oeuvre d’art moderne d’artistes tels que Fernand Léger, Bernard Buffet, Victor Vasarely… 
Notre équipe, possédant une grande connaissance de ces artistes et de leurs oeuvres, pourra répondre à toute vos questions sur les tableaux exposés.
Enfin, la galerie DIL vous propose l’estimation gratuite de vos oeuvres, réalisée par des experts en peinture moderne.

Les artistes exposés

La galerie DIL vous propose l’oeuvre de plusieurs artistes d’art moderne ayant marqué l’histoire de la peinture du XXème siècle.
Notre collection regroupe en particulier un grand nombre d’oeuvres de deux artistes emblématiques : Bernard Buffet et Fernand Léger. Nous vous invitons à en apprendre plus sur ces deux figure de l’art moderne. 

Fernand Léger

Né le 4 février 1881, à Argentan (Orne) et mort le 17 août 1955 à Gif-sur-Yvette (Essonne), est un peintre français, aussi créateur de cartons de tapisseries et de vitraux, décorateur,céramiste, sculpteur, dessinateur et illustrateur.

Il a été l’un des premiers à exposer publiquement des travaux d’orientation cubiste. 

Ses origines normandes, qu’il attribue à un père éleveur et son franc-parler, ont souvent fait passer Fernand Léger pour le « paysan de l’avant-garde ».

 

Ses débuts dans l’art

À dix-neuf ans, il découvre le Paris de 1900 et s’installe dans le quartier de Montparnasse et fréquente les académies de peinture.

Dès 1903, Léger partage un atelier avec le peintre André Mare. En 1907, comme de nombreux peintres parisiens, il est très marqué par la rétrospective consacrée à Cézanne. Celle-ci oriente définitivement sa peinture. La même année, il découvre le cubisme de Picasso et de Braque.

Le peintre se fond bientôt dans l’effervescence de la vie artistique parisienne et, dès 1908, travaille aux côtés de Modigliani, Laurens et surtout Alexander Archipenko. Installé à la Ruche en 1908, il se lie avec Blaise Cendrars, Max Jacob et Guillaume Apollinaire et dialogue, entre autres, avec le peintre Robert Delaunay et aussi avec Marc Chagall, Chaïm Soutine, Chaim Jacob Lipchitz, Pierre Reverdy et Maurice Raynal. 

Fernand Léger et le cubisme

Il peint en 1910 La Couseuse, qui ouvre sa période cubiste. Amas de lignes géométriques logé dans un espace court, la toile est proche des figures massives de Picasso peintes la même année. Pourtant, dès Nu dans la forêt (1909-1910), Léger propose un cubisme personnel, même s’il s’est certainement inspiré de l’œuvre de Picasso portant le même titre.

découvrir la galerie
la couseuse, huile sur toile, 1910

Spectateur assidu du cirque Medrano, Fernand Léger peint les acrobatesles clownsles jongleurs dont les corps « mécanisés » ont la même valeur que les objets et les décors.

Il se marie en 1919 avec Jeanne Lohy. Rencontrée avant la guerre dans les milieux intellectuels parisiens, Jeanne sera sa marraine de guerre et entretiendra une riche correspondance épistolaire avec l’artiste.

Fernand Léger: un professeur d’art

En 1924, Fernand Léger se rapproche des puristes et participe à la revue L’Esprit nouveau. Il fonde avec Amédée Ozenfant l’Académie de l’art moderne au 86, rue Notre-Dame-Des-Champs à Paris. Ce dernier y enseignera jusqu’en 1928. Cette académie deviendra l’Académie de l’art contemporain en 1934.

En octobre 1940, il part à Marseille, d’où il embarque pour les Etats-Unis. Il y enseignera à l’université de Yale avec Henri Focillon, Darius Milhaud et André Maurois.

Un peintre engagé politiquement

Le peintre français adhère au Parti communiste français en 1945, dont il restera membre jusqu’à la fin de sa vie. En 1946, il rouvre son atelier de la place Jules-Ferry à Montrouge.

Les dernières années de sa carrière

Au début des années 1950, Fernand Léger participe avec Jean Bazaine et Jean Le Moal à la décoration de l’église du Sacré-Cœur, construite dans un quartier ouvrier d’Audincourt (Doubs), pour laquelle il conçoit les dix-sept vitraux de la nef et du choeur et dessine les cartons de la tapisserie située derrière le maître-autel.

En 1952, il se marie avec Nadia Khodossievitch

découvrir la galerie
Nadia Khodossievitch

Le succès de Fernand Léger après sa disparition

Quelques mois avant sa mort en 1955, Fernand Léger acquiert le mas Saint-André, situé au pied du village de Biot. Sur ce terrain horticole, Nadia Léger, sa veuve, et Georges Bauquier, son proche collaborateur, décident de créer un musée pour lui rendre hommage et favoriser la connaissance de son œuvre.

L’édifice intègre en façade une immense mosaïque, initialement prévue par Léger pour la décoration du stade de Hanovre, mais jamais réalisée.

En 1969, les fondateurs font don à l’État français du bâtiment, du terrain et d’une collection riche de plus de trois cents œuvres. André Malraux, ministre d’État chargé des Affaires culturelles, reçoit la donation au cours d’une manifestation officielle qui se termine par un gala organisé au palais des festivals de Cannes. 
Le musée Léger devient musée national et, selon les clauses de la donation, les fondateurs restent directeurs à vie.

L’attachement de Fernand Léger à la Normandie

Si Fernand Léger est mort à Gif-sur-Yvette dans l’Essone et a vécu à Paris, c’est en Normandie qu’il a vu le jour, comme en témoigne sa peinture. L’artiste est ainsi né à Argentan dans l’Orne et n’a jamais coupé les ponts avec sa région d’origine.

En 1922, sa mère lui lègue cette ferme située à Lisores, une maison dans laquelle il ira se ressourcer durant 30 ans dès qu’il en aura l’occasion et où il disposait d’un atelier. Dans les années 70, sa femme, Nadia Léger, ouvrit les portes du lieu au public. C’est ce projet que réactive 40 ans plus tard le marchand d’art Jean du Chatenet.

Les ayants droit et titulaires du droit moral de Fernand Léger, descendants de Nadia Léger, présidant le Comité Léger, informent les professionnels et les amateurs du marché de l’art qu’à ce jour aucune autorisation n’a été donnée à un tiers pour la publication d’un catalogue raisonné des oeuvres sur papier de Fernand Léger.

Pour toutes expertises, il suffit d’envoyer la demande à contact@comiteleger.fr

Contraste de formes, Fernand Léger, 1913
galerie DIL accueil
Le puit, Gouache sur papier, 1950
galerie DIL image accueil
Composition à la Fleur - Gouache sur papier, 1952
galerie DIL accueil
L'église d'Ansauville, huile sur toile, 1968
Atelier de la baume, dessin au crayon, 1997
La plage de Saint-Cast, huile sur toile, 1964

Bernard Buffet

découvrir la galerie
Bernard Buffet

Bernard Buffet naît le 10 juillet 1928 dans le 9ème arrondissement de Paris.

Il est élevé dans le 17ème arrondissement de Paris au no 29 de la rue des Batignolles où il commence à peindre et dessiner dès l’âge de dix ans. Très jeune, il cotoie l’artiste Marie-Thérèse Auffray qui lui enseigne la peinture et devient son mentor. Renvoyé du lycée Carnot en 1939, il suit en 1942 les cours du soir de la ville de Paris Place des Vosges où Paul Darbefeuille l’initie au dessin.

Ses début dans la peinture

Bernard Buffet remporte le concours d’entrée de l’Ecole nationale supérieure des beaux-arts en décembre 1943 à quinze ans. Ce dernier passe alors deux ans dans l’atelier du peintre Eugène Narbonne où il est déjà considéré comme très doué. Il part travailler seul dès 1945 dans la chambre de bonne de l’appartement familial. A l’occasion de vacances à Saint-Cast-le-Guildo (Bretagne), il peint des tableaux de plage. En 1946, il expose son premier tableau, un autoportrait, au Salon des moins de trente ans à la Galerie des beaux-arts.

Premières expositions

Par la suite, Il expose L’Homme accoudé au Salon des indépendants en 1947. Successivement, en décembre a lieu sa première exposition particulière présentée par Pierre Descarques à la Librairie des impressions d’art, organisée par Guy Weelen et Michel Brient. L’État, par l’intermédiaire de Raymond Cogniat, lui fait son premier achat pour le Musée national d’art moderne de Paris, la peinture Nature morte au poulet.

découvrir la galerie
Buveur Assis, huile sur toile, 1948

En avril 1948, il présente un tableau, Le Buveur au prix de la jeune peinture organisé à la galerie Drouant-David, 52, rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré à Paris. Il n’obtient pas le prix, mais le docteur Maurice Girardin, un collectionneur d’art contemporain qui acquiert dix-sept de ses œuvres entre 1948 et 1953, défend sa peinture avec passion et attire l’attention d’Emmanuel David sur ce jeune peintre.

Le succès de Bernard Buffet

Quelques jours plus tard, Emmanuel David se rend dans l’appartement du 29 de la rue des Batignolles et propose à Bernard Buffet d’entrer dans sa galerie avec un contrat d’exclusivité. Ce contrat a par la suite été partagé avec Maurice Garnier.

Au mois de juin suivant, à la galerie Saint-Placido à Paris, il obtient le Prix de la critique ex-aequo avec Bernard Lorjou, de vingt ans son aîné.

En 1949 Pierre Descargues publie Bernard Buffet aux Presses littéraires de France. Bernard Buffet épouse Agnès Nanquette (1923-1976), une camarade des Beaux-Arts, dont il divorce l’année suivante.

Bernard Buffet et Annabel Schwob

En 1958, première rétrospective de son œuvre à la galerie Charpentier de Paris. Pierre Bergé publie Bernard Buffet. En mai de la même année, il rencontre Annabel Schwob à Saint-Tropez. C’est le coup de foudre. Elle entretient alors plusieurs liaisons et Bernard vient de quitter Pierre Bergé, avec lequel il vivait depuis plusieurs années et qui gère sa carrière.

Le 12 décembre 1958, Buffet épouse Annabel Schwob à Rammatuelle. Buffet devait la peindre inlassablement ; en 1961, l’une de ses expositions s’intitule « Trente fois Annabel Schwob ».

découvrir la galerie

En 1961, il peint un ensemble de tableaux représentant la vie du Christ destinés à décorer la chapelle du Château l’Arc, sur la commune de Fuveau. Dix ans plus tard, à la demande de monseigneur Pasquale Macchi, secrétaire du pape Paul VI,, Bernard Buffet offrira ces tableaux au musée du Vatican où ils sont exposés dans une salle particulière.

Maurice Druon publie Bernard Buffet, légendes d’Annabel Buffet, images de Luc Fournol en 1964. Bernard Buffet achète La Vallée à Saint-Cast où il travaillera jusqu’en 1970.

Le 25 novembre 1973, inauguration du Musée Bernard Buffet, fondé par Kiichiro Okano, à Surugadaira au Japon.

Élu à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts le 13 mars 1974 au fauteuil de Paul Jouve, Bernard Buffet est alors le plus jeune académicien.

Annabel publie D’amour et d’eau fraîche en 1986; la même année sort le livre de Yann Le Pichon Bernard Buffet en deux tomes qui obtient le prix Elie-Faure.

Fin de vie de Bernard Buffet

Bernard Buffet, diminué par la maladie de Parkinson, se suicide par asphyxie le 4 octobre 1999 dans son atelier du Domaine de la Baume près de Tourtour (Var). Il est retrouvé étouffé dans un sac en plastique noir sur la surface duquel son nom était imprimé avec sa calligraphie particulière.

En novembre 2007 paraît le 3e et dernier volume de la monographie de Yann Le Pichon, Bernard Buffet, couvrant la période de 1982 à 1999.

Le Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris organise une rétrospective Bernard Buffet du 14 octobre 2016 au 5 mars 2017 ainsi que le musée de Montmartre du 18 octobre 2016 au 12 mars 2017

Estimer vos oeuvres

Tableaux, aquarelles, dessins, décrivez vos œuvres, envoyez-nous une photo recto-verso et nous vous donnerons une estimation gratuite de la valeur de vos objets.

galerie DIL image equipe

Nous contacter

La galerie DIL vous accueille dans son établissement situé au 86 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré du Lundi au Samedi

Horaires

Accès

Nous suivre

Nous contacter

La galerie DIL vous accueille dans son établissement situé au 86 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré du Lundi au Samedi

Horaires

Accès

Nous suivre